N Clay RobbinsThursday 4:00pm - Enhancing the Quality of Life for Individuals and Communities: Various Roles for Philanthropy

N. Clay Robbins is chairman, president and CEO of Lilly Endowment Inc. Robbins joined the Endowment staff in January 1993 as vice president for community development to supervise that division's grantmaking activities. In 1999 he was elected to the Board of Directors. In 2012, he was named CEO and in September 2015, he was elected chairman, president and CEO.

Before his appointment at the Endowment, Robbins was a partner at Baker & Daniels law firm, where he focused his practice on tax-exempt organizations, estate and gift tax, and immigration law. He joined the firm as an associate in 1982 and spent 1985-1986 as an exchange associate in the European Economic Community law department of the Belgian firm, Rycken Burlion Bolle & Houben in Brussels.

Robbins is a member of the Indiana State Bar Association and served on the drafting committee for the Indiana Nonprofit Corporation Act of 1991. He chaired the international law section of the Indianapolis Bar Association in 1987-88.

Robbins serves as a member of the board and executive committee of the United Way of Central Indiana. He also is a member of the board of the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership. He is a former board member of the Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, the Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee and Damar Homes, Inc., a nonprofit residential program providing services to school-aged children and young adults with developmental disabilities. He also is a former director and president of the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra.

Robbins has received three honorary degrees. In 2006 Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology awarded him an honorary doctor of humane letters degree. He was awarded honorary doctor of laws degrees by Indiana State University in 2004 and by Wabash College in 2009. In 2007, he was inducted into the Indiana Academy.

Robbins graduated from Wabash College at Crawfordsville in 1979 where he was a religion major and a Lilly Scholar. He earned his J.D. in 1982 from the Vanderbilt Law School in Nashville, Tenn.